Kenpo Belt Ranks

The International Karate Connection Association (IKCA) promotes
according to the colored belt levels as follows:

Yellow Belt

The beginning of the journey - the basic movements
and class etiquette.

Orange Belt

Moving away from attacks
Stepping away from danger and out of holds.

Purple Belt

Moving into attacks using traps, grabs, and throws.
Stepping towards danger or at least side stepping and evading.
Stepping into holds, then into take downs maintaining control of the attacker. Introduces trapping, grabbing & throws.
(5 out of 7 techniques either trap
or grab and one more throws)

Blue Belt

Becoming a multi-tasker using arms and legs simultaneously.
Fighting, blending & borrowing. The seeds of the "Theory of 55"
are beginning to flower. Introduces simultaneous target attacks,
combination kicks, sweeps and sparring techniques.

Green Belt

Employing the circles; going with the flow. Kenpo as a
Chinese art. It's Kung Fu, circular and flowing. Hand speed
is critical here. "Theory of 55" is expanding geometrically.


Brown Belt

Harnessing the power, developing the blitz. Fast and powerful.
Learning to "PUT THEM DOWN NOW!" Students begin to move like
a tornado over Kansas. Introduces multiple attackers.

Black Belt

Seeing the bigger picture, putting it all together.
The understanding of the "Theory of 55" is nearly complete,
although it takes a lifetime to get it nearly perfect. 55 techniques
breed into 555 techniques. Kenpo does not exist in a vacuum;
nearly half of the Black Belt techniques introduce elements
from other Martial Arts.

The IKCA Belt Level Themes were developed by Brenda King, 4th Dan,
and Bill Parsons, 3rd Dan. The themes have been approved by Senior Grand Master Chuck Sullivan for use as a teaching aid, and are used with permission.

Rank designation in BLACK BELT is worn at each end of the belt.  Starting one
inch from the end. The stripes and bars are red. The stripes are one half inch
wide and the spaces are one half inch wide.  The bars are five inches wide.

Black Belt - lst Degree: One stripe

Black Belt - 2nd Degree: Two stripes

Black Belt - 3rd Degree: Three stripes

Black Belt - 4th Degree: Four stripes

Black Belt - 5th Degree: One five inch bar

Black Belt - 6th Degree: One bar and one stripe

Black Belt - 7th Degree: One bar and two stripes

Black Belt - 8th Degree: One bar and three stripes

Black Belt - 9th Degree: One bar and four stripes

Black Belt - 10th Degree:Two five inch bars

Any rank up to and including Black Belt may be attained by a
person under sixteen years of age, however, all belt levels held by those
persons shall be considered JUNIOR BELT RANK.

At sixteen years of age the rank held by such persons will
automatically be considered his or her adult rank.